Mercury Prize shortlist announced

Arctic Monkeys' Alex Turner at TRNSMT 2018

This year's shortlist for the Hyundai Mercury Prize has been released.

Launched in 1992, the annual music prize intends to celebrate the best of all UK music by awarding the title of Best Album.

This year's line-up features names including: Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds, Florence and the Machine, Lily Allen and Arctic Monkeys, among many others.

Sampha picked up the award last year for his concept debut album Process, whilst Skepta won in 2016 with Konnichiwa.

The winner will be announced during a prestigious ceremony which will take place on 20 September at the Eventim Apollo in London. 

2018 Mercury Prize shortlist:

Arctic Monkeys – Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino

Everything Everything – A Fever Dream

Everything Is Recorded – Everything Is Recorded

Florence & The Machine – High As Hope

Jorja Smith – Lost & Found

King Krule – The Ooz

Lily Allen – No Shame

Nadine Shah – Holiday Destination

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – Who Built The Moon?

Novelist – Novelist Guy

Sons Of Kemet – Your Queen Is A Reptile

Wolf Alice – Visions Of A Life